FAQ: Classes

To healsig or not to healsig?
Xelissa
GM of DOOM!!

FAQ: Classes

Post by Xelissa » Wed Oct 25, 2006 1:44 pm

FAQ for the Classes of Guild Wars!

General Class Questions

Q: I'm new to Guild Wars. What class should I start with?
A: I'd strongly recommend going for whatever class sounds the most interesting to you! Here's a breakdown at what the different classes are like:
  • Assassin:
    * Pros: High DPS, fast attacks, multiple knockdowns, able to do some great spike damage.
    * Cons: "Squishy," limited survivability.

Elementalist:
    * Pros: Can easily fulfill a DPS and spike damage role(e.g. fire AoE spells) or a support role (e.g. blinding, weakening, wards)
    * Cons: Often run into energy problems, enchantment strips on attunements, vulnerable to interrupts

Mesmer:
    * Pros: The "shutdown" class. A good mesmer can render an enemy useless or get them to even kill themselves if they aren't paying attention! Also has damage over time (degens) and interrupts.
    * Cons: Takes a higher amount of skill to play, requires patience and timing, in PVP mesmers are usually the first target.

Monk:
    * Pros: The best healing class in Guild Wars.
    * Cons: Responsibility of keeping people alive, need to learn how to kite, energy management problems.

Necromancer
    * Pros: Soulreaping makes necromancers the best at sustaining minions, has some of the best group support buffs (e.g. Blood is Power, Order of Pain)
    * Cons: energy management is very dependent on things dying (it's a pain outside of battle), long casting times on many spells, often pigeon-holed into a Minion Master and sometimes a Battery build.

Ranger:
    * Pros: Probably the most versatile class in the game. You can try out many, many builds that are very different from one another. Excell at interrupts.
    * Cons: Only 3 pips of energy regen

Ritualist:
    * Pros: Spirits can do high damage and have useful abilities (e.g. blinding, disenchanting, knockdown)